TV Glossary
Advertising Agencies
Media Houses
Hardware Equipment
Event organisers
TV Manufacturers
PR Firms
Satellite Channels
Satellites covering India
Current Status
India`s Television future
Legal Resources
Scriptwriter`s Corner
Awards Corner
TV Punching Bag
What`s the Buzzz
Professional`s Directory
Top Stories
See today's headlines
The Indian CAB&SAT Reporter
Daily News headlines's The Indian Telly Awards 2001

(Posted on 7 July 2001 8:30 pm)

Star takes the cake
and cream as well with
eight awards

It was Star India's night out at the first Indian Television Awards 2001 Friday as it took home most of the major awards up for grabs except for Television Channel of the Year, which went to DD Metro..

That was the only real blip on the Star screen. All the other major awards, including the big one - CEO of the Year 2000 for head honcho Peter Mukerjea - went to members of the network. And Mukerjea sent out a clear warning to rivals that his team had no intention of taking their collective feet of the accelerator in their efforts to stay ahead in the channel races. "These awards are only a rehearsal for next year," he said.

A virtual procession of Star's senior executives made it to the podium on a night that only emphasised the kind of dominance the channel has had in the last one year.

The Star TV winning team
While most of the award winners made their acceptance speeches in a tone of light fun, Arun Mohan, head of distribution, put things in perspective when he praised the efforts of his team and the network as a whole in pushing the channel to its present position.

Of the 15 competitive awards that were given away last night, eight went to Star.

And the awards:
Comedy/sitcom: Tu Tu Mein Mein (Star Plus; Producer - Nirja Guleri)
Best TV Show of the Year: Kaun Banega Crorepati (Star Plus; Producer - Synergy Productions
Marketing Executive of the Year: Mubina Ansari
Ad Sales Executive of the year: Raj Nayak
Distribution Executive of the year: Arun Mohan
Programming Executive of the Year: Sameer Nair
Best Marketing Activity Launch Of Kaun Banega Crorepati. Sumantra Dutta picked up the award on behalf of Star.
TV CEO Of The Year 2000: Peter Mukerjea

Click here to get full list of winners