Celebrating Excellence...
The Best of Television Today!!
 About Awards | The Statuette | Categories | The Jury | Nominees | Selection Process | Winners | Photo Gallery | Press Coverage
Anil Dharker Lekh Tandon
Ashutosh Gowarikar Rakesh Sharma
Charles Jacob Rekha Nigam
Dolly Thakore Vanita Kohli
Kiran Deohans Vinod Ranganath

Anil Dharker

Anil Dharker is a columnist for The Times of India, The Hindu, MidDay, Gulf News and other publications. He has been editor of The Illustrated Weekly of India, The Independent, MidDay, Sunday MidDay and other publications. His association with television has covered many aspects such as stints as producer, anchor and interviewer, head of a TV Channel and for years as critic (The Sunday Times of India and The Sunday Observer). He has also written a book on Doordarshan "Sorry, Not Ready", published by Harper Collins.

Ashutosh Gowarikar

Ashutosh Gowariker is an actor who took to film direction after almost a decade in front of the camera. This multi-award winning director , began his career as an actor in Ketan Mehta's experimental film Holi. He then went on to direct his first film Pehla Nasha in 1993 , followed by the Aamir Khan starrer Baazi. He has also acted in many Hindi and Marathi Films , television serials and commercials. His movie Lagaan brought him praises galore .Apart from getting the enviable distinction of being nominated for the Oscars in the best foreign film category,it has won 6 Zee Cine Awards, 8 Filmfare Awards and 7 International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Awards.

Charles Jacob

Charles Jacob has a commendable 10 years experience in the electronic media and entertainment business. As head of Production Operations at Crest Communications Limited, he has developed his expertise in a multitude of areas like production of advertising commercials, television software, in-flight entertainment programming, dubbing operations, post-production, animation and special effects.

Dolly Thakore

Dolly Thakore is a multi-talented, multi-award winning media personality who has been in the business since 1965. PR consultant, scriptwriter, journalist, columnist, interviewer, theatre and film critic, theatre actress, the list is endless. Apart from all the above, she is an official translator of Hindi into English for the Government of India. An active social worker she is also a member of the Central Board of Film Certification, the Film Advisory Board, the National Film Jury and the Panorama Film Jury. She is also a compere/moderator on a number of national and international fora.

Kiran Deohans

Kiran made his first mark in the Indian film making segment in 1988 by winning the best cinematographer award at Filmfare for Qayamat Se Qayamat Tak, but instead of this he opted for ad film making as a cameraman (Sachin's mask ad for Pepsi was one of his works). In 1991 he teamed up with the ad professional Aban, now his wife, to set up his own production house- Candid Creations. They also did the video "Krishna" for Colonial Cousins. Today he has many hits to his name like Aks and Kabhie Khushi Kabhi Gham .mak

Lekh Tandon

Well known director of super hit movies like Amrapali and Prince, Tandon made his directorial debut in 1961 with Professor which was a runaway hit. After that he went on to direct memorable films like Jhuk Gaya Aasmaan, Agar Tum Na Hote , Doosri Dulhan and Khuda Kasam . Not satisfied with directing movies alone he took up the challenge of directing serials and won accolades for that too. His serial Phir Wahi Talaash got the President's Best Serial of the year Award . Some of the other popular serials directed by him include Dil Daryaa , Doosra Kewal , Daraar , Farmaan, Kurukshetra , Adhikaar,Khushi and Milan .

Rakesh Sharma

Rakesh Sharma is a distinguished documentary maker who has worked on various documentaries like Democracy in Crisis? for channel 4, UK, Beaches of India for the Ministry of Tourism, Seeds of plenty, Seeds of Sorrow for BBC-1 , Portraits from a Dream Show for BBC-2 and Ringmasters- a piece on electoral malpractices for Doordarshan . His latest documentary Aftershocks -The Rough Guide to Democracy has won many awards, including the prestigious 'Le Prix de la Presse politique award' for the best documentary film at the 16th Fribourg International film festival in Switzerland. Apart from getting rave reviews, it has been invited to film festivals the world over.

Rekha Nigam

Rekha Nigam started her career with Everest Advertising way back in July 1979.Her first dialogue for Pan Parag (dhoom machade rang jamade) became an instant hit . A creative background and Sanskrit literature base helped her master many languages. As copy writer she devoted 21 years to the advertising industry. She was also Programming Head at Sony Entertainment Television. Currently she is writing scripts for movies and serials.

Vanita Kohli

Vanita Kohli is the media editor at Businessworld, India's largest selling business weekly. After completing her MBA in marketing from Mumbai University, Vanita joined A&M as a trainee correspondent. She left the magazine as chief of its Mumbai bureau to join Hathway Investments. In 1998 she joined Businessworld and became a part of a McKinsey project that helped turn the magazine around. She has been writing on media for over two years. In June 2000 she penned Mutilating Music a paper on the issue of copyrights in digital music, during a stint at Cambridge University. Currently she is working on a book on the Indian media business.

Vinod Ranganath

Vinod Ranganath, Creative Director of Siddhant Cinevision, is a celebrated scriptwriter who has written for many popular television series and movies. His work on television includes popular soaps like Swabhiman, Sukanya, Kittie Party (co written with Shobha De), Itihaas, Kartavya and Lekin which is still under production. He has also written story, screenplay and dialogues for movies like Mast, Mil Gayee Manzil Mujhe, Vibhatsa, and Millennium Stars, a Malayalam film. Currently, he is writing the screenplay for films like Ken Ghosh's, Ishq-Vishq Pyaar Vyaar and a film produced by Ram Gopal Varma .

Back to Top

Indian Television Dot Com Pvt Ltd, 126-127, Kartik Commercial Complex, New Link Road, Andheri (W) Mumbai 400 053 India
Phone:6730659, 6730660, 6920675,692076,6730986. Fax: 6730659
E-Mail: webmaster@indiantellyawards.com,