Sharad Malhotra, Parul Chauhan & Sara Khan shine at 8th Indian Telly Awards

MUMBAI: In an evening of glitz and glamour, the Eighth Indian Telly Awards 2008 honoured the shining stars of the Indian television industry. Banoo Mein Teri Dulhann’s Sharad Malhotra was adjudged the best actor while Bidaai’s sisters Parul Chauhan and Sara Khan walked away with the best actress award.

Network18 founder and managing director Raghav Bahl was conferred with Lifetime Achievement award. Starting his career as a journalist, Bahl has created a media empire spread across TV channels, internet properties, filmed entertainment, wire services and cable TV.

Alva Brothers founding trio Nikhil, Niret and Nivedith were inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Said Nikhil Alva, "We have had a fantastic ride since we started operations from the garage 15 years back."

Star Plus was awarded the best entertainment channel while the best Hindi movie channel went to Max.

Times Now walked away with the best English news channel while Aaj Tak bagged the Hindi news channel of the year. CNBC TV18 won the best business news channel of the year.

Salman Khan was awarded for best anchor of Dus Ka Dum. Siddarth Basu of Synergy Adlabs accepted the award on behalf of Khan. Basu even danced on stage with Mini Mathur.

Surekha Sikri was awarded the best actor in a negative role (female) for playing the character Kalyani Devi in Balika Vadhu (Colors).

Sphere Origins bagged the best production house.

The Eighth edition introduced a new award, Garry Bhinder Promising Director, in fond memory of the director. The award went to Binder posthumously.

Hosted at the Chitrakoot Grounds in Andheri, Mumbai, the Indian Telly Popular Awards had 40 categories. These included: Best Actor (Male and Female), Best Supporting Actor (Male and Female), Best TV Daily, Best TV Weekly, Best Continuing TV show, Best TV Anchor, Best Hindi Channel, Best Production House, Best Reality Show, Best Talent Show, Best News Channel (English and Hindi), Best Hindi Movie Channel, Best Business News Channel, The Hall of Fame Award and Contribution to Television Award.

The evening also saw the felicitation of Prachi 'Rock On' Desai and Rajeev 'Aamir' Khandelwal for scaling the television wall and leaping into the world of cinema successfully.

The hosts for the evening were the inimitable Cyrus Broacha and Mini Mathur.

For those who missed it all, The Tellys will be premiered only on Sony TV on 31 December.